A Beginner's Guide to the Chakras | Yoga


The chakras govern our behavior, shape our emotional life, give expression to our deepest desires, and build the structure of our physical body and personality.

However, these seven energy centers often become blocked by long held tension and/or low self-esteem. In learning about this system, we begin to se that our external life and internal habits, life limiting concepts, self-esteem and chronic mental tension can ll produce imbalances in our energy centers. If such an imbalance is lef unaddressed, t can result in an actual physical disease and dysfunction. To help this energy ralanc, we turn to oga posture, pranayam and meditatio, which we will explore in more detail in a later post. 

First, an introduction to the seven chakras:

Note: For easy reference, you can view the chakras in respect to their position along the ength of the spine, but keep in mind they are not physical structures; rather, they are made of subtle energy.

1. Muladhara: Located at the base of the spine, this chakra signifies our foundation and feeling of groundedness. 

  • Sanskrit meaning: Root; Support
  • Emotional expression: Survival concerns like financial independence, shelter, food
  • Thought association: I am

2. Svadhisthana: Locate in the genitals and womb, this chakra signifies our connection and ability to accept others and new experiences. Not only are both sexuality and pleasure associated with this chakra, but also the desire for nurturing nurturing, nourishment, warmth and touch.

  • Sanskrit meaning: Sweetness
  • Emotional expression: Sense of abundance, well-being, pleasure, sexuality
  • Thought association: I feel

3. Manipura: Located in the upper abdomen an stomach area, this chakra signifies our ability to be confident and in-control of our lives.

  • Sanskrit meaning: Belonging
  • Emotional expression: Self-worth, self-confidence, self-esteem
  • Thought association: I do

4. Anahata: Located at the center of chest just above the heart, this chakra signifies our ability to love.

  • Sanskrit meaning: Unstruck; unbeaten
  • Emotional expression: Love, joy, inner peace
  • Thought association: love

5. Visshudha: Located in the throat, this chakra signifies ur ability to communicate.

  • Sanskrit meaning: Purification
  • Emotional issues: Communication, expression, truth
  • Thought association: speak

6. Anja: Located n the forehead between the eye ("third eye"), this chakra signifies ou ability to focus on and see the big picture.

  • Sanskirt meaning: To know; perceive
  • Emotional expression: Intuition, imagination, wisdom, ability to think and make decisions
  • Thought association: see

7. Sahasrara Padma: Located at the very top of the head, the highest chakra signifies our ability to be fully connected spiritually.

  • Sanskrit meaning: Thousandfold lotus
  • Emotional expression: Inner and outer beauty, our connection to spirituality, pure bliss
  • Thought association: I understand